Giordana Caputo- Secretary


Giordy square

Giordana Caputo is the CEO of the Community Media Training Organisation and Secretary of the CMTO Board. An experienced manager, broadcaster, producer, journalist and trainer, Giordana specialises in the delivery of outside broadcasting and features production training. Giordana has a Certificate IV in training and assessment (TAE40110) and delivers training to community broadcasters in NSW. She is the current Executive Producer of the CBAA’s National Features and Documentary Series and a broadcaster at 2RRR in Gladesville. She is the former Executive Producer of FBi Radio's All the Best and previously served on the board of Radio Skid Row as Secretary. Giordana was a long-term worker and station manager of Brisbane’s 4ZZZ where she managed community development and training projects aimed at empowering and engaging marginalised groups through the media. She earned a degree in Journalism from the Queensland University of Technology and has produced content for a range of media organisations including 2RRR, Think + DO Tank, FBi, CRN, 4ZZZ, SBS Radio, Rave Magazine, The Australian Ballet and Media Monitors Australia.


Joe De Luca


joe de luca 300x 300

Joe De Luca is the CEO of Darwin's multicultural broadcasting group, the MBCNT, and the NEMBC nominee to the CMTO board. He is a Certified Practicing Accountant (FCPA) and has worked in both the NT and Commonwealth Government in a range of senior management roles. His responsibilities in his government work have included the facilitation and delivery of Indigenous Programs in the Northern Territory. Joe has been a community broadcaster and in-house trainer for over 25 years. He is passionate about promoting, preserving and maintaining cultural identity, language and heritage and is also a strong advocate for the Ethnic Community. Joe is currently the Treasurer of the NEMBC, and the Registrar of the NT Justices’ of the Peace Association.

Joe's term as Board Member with the CMTO is until June 2019.


Gavin Ivey

Gavin Ivey 300x300



Gavin Ivey is an experienced Program Manager with a wealth of experience in the Arts, Media and Entertainment Industries. He has been involved with Gadigal Information Service Aboriginal Corporation since 1994, and has held many off and on air roles during that time, including his current program management role. Gavin’s experience in production coordination, outside broadcast coordination and program management is instrumental to his role on the CMTO board.

Gavin's term as Board Member with the CMTO is until February 2021.



Melvin Lee

Melvin Lee 300x300

Melvin Lee’s interest in the education sector began with his high school teaching career which spanned more than 25 years in Science, Mathematics and Technology. In 2004, he became involved in community broadcasting as a volunteer presenter and technical operator. It didn't take long for Melvin to become a part of the management committee at his first station, later occupying the roles of Treasurer and President. In 2005, he became employed at 7RPH where he is still employed in a management role. He has conducted various training courses in community broadcasting in his time in the sector. Melvin brings a combination of education and community media expertise to his role on the CMTO board, and is also knowledgeable in broadcast technology.

Melvin's term as Board Member with the CMTO is until August 2020.


David Turrell

David Turrell 300x 300David Turrell is an enduring member of community media and is currently CEO of Life FM, where he was general manager for 6 years prior.

He was appointed CEO of Christian Media Australia in 2004-2012, where he represented and advocates the interests of Radio and TV stations, program producers and industry professionals. His strengths lie in strategy, leadership development and radio.

David's term as Board Member with the CMTO is until February 2020.


More Articles ...

  1. Dr Christina Spurgeon